I do yoga, y’all

Theme song for this post: At the Cross (Love Ran Red) Instrumental, by Chris Tomlin (my favorite yoga song)

Or at least, I did do yoga… until this semester happened.

I always find it amusing when I tell some of my older Christian friends that I do yoga. They react in one of three ways:

  1. Stereotypical Western Yogi Response: “OMG ME, TOO. I do hot yoga down at the gym on Thursdays after I get of from the juice bar!” Then they tend to ask me various questions about LuLuLemon apparel and kale shakes.
  2. Neutral American Response: *nods head* “Yeah… I used to run. I ain’t got time no more. Now I’m 75 pounds heavier.” And then they never look at me the same, because now they consider me to be one of those weird hippy people.
  3. Close-minded Christian Response: ” That’s devil worship! They summon demons with yoga!” And then I’m told I am misguided.

… you get the picture. I’m either a kale-shake loving maniac or a devil worshiper.

I am not any of those things, though. In fact, when I did yoga everyday, I found myself spending more and more time with God during those moments. I meditated on his Word (which is Biblical, btw. Joshua 1:8). I found myself thanking God for a blessing every time I breathed. I prayed and journaled about how I felt, and what I needed to get through that day. Overall, I spent more time with God when I was doing yoga consistently than I am now.

One of my favorite Psalms to meditate on was Psalm 150:

Praise the Lord.

Praise God in his sanctuary;
    praise him in his mighty heavens.
Praise him for his acts of power;
    praise him for his surpassing greatness.
Praise him with the sounding of the trumpet,
    praise him with the harp and lyre,
praise him with timbrel and dancing,
    praise him with the strings and pipe,
praise him with the clash of cymbals,
    praise him with resounding cymbals.

Let everything that has breath praise the Lord.

Praise the Lord.

I love this Psalm for many reasons, but mainly I love the descriptions of praise. Every method of praise requires human energy, and devotion, and skill. The topic of God’s grace, provision, and power is greater the spoken human voice. We can praise God in any form we please. We can sing to him. We can dance for him. We can love someone for him.

And, yes, we can offer God praise through yoga, too.

So here’s my charge to myself – I will begin to do yoga again. Almost everyday. I will meditate and spend time with God.

Later, y’all. Find your favorite way to praise God.

Leave a Reply

